Leitlinien Katalog


Criteria of the German Society of Cardiology for the establishment of chest pain units: update 2014


Felix Post • Tommaso Gori • Evangelos Giannitsis • Harald Darius • Stephan Baldus • Christian Hamm • Rainer Hambrecht • Hans Martin Hofmeister • Hugo Katus • Stefan Perings • Jochen Senges • Thomas Münzel


Since 2008, the German Cardiac Society (DGK) has been establishing a network of certified chest pain Units (CPUs). The goal of CPUs was and is to carry out differential diagnostics of acute or newly occurring chest pain of undetermined origin in a rapid and goal-oriented manner and to take immediate therapeutic measures. The basis for the previous certification process was criteria that have been established and published by the task force on CPUs. These criteria regulate the spatial and technical requirements and determine diagnostic and therapeutic strategies in patients with chest pain. Furthermore, the requirements for the organization of CPUs and the training requirements for the staff of a CPU are defined. The certification process is carried out by the DGK; currently, 225 CPUs are certified and 139 CPUs have been recertified after running for a period of 3 years. The certification criteria have now been revised and updated according to new Guidelines.


Post, F., Gori, T., Giannitsis, E.
Clin Res Cardiol (2015) 104:918–928
DOI 10.1007/s00392-015-0888-2
Diese Seite teilen